A Review Of 20 Major Events That Happened In The 2010s
Community

A Review Of 20 Major Events That Happened In The 2010s

Let's recap the decade.

132
A Review Of 20 Major Events That Happened In The 2010s

2019 was not only the end of a year but the end of a decade. The 2010s were a wild ride, that's for sure. The decade was filled with scandals, disasters, revolutionary change, cutting-edge technology, and unforgettable moments. Can't remember what happened? Let's take a trip down memory lane to jog your memory of the last 10 years.

February 2010: Haiti faces a devastating earthquake.

www.nationalgeographic.com

On January 12, 2010, a catastrophic earthquake with a magnitude of 7.0 struck the country of Haiti. The ground shook for nearly 40 seconds, and when it had finished, destroyed landscapes and the lives of Haitians. An estimated 250,000 people died, with at least 300,000 people left injured.

April 2010: The first iPad came out.

Photo by Josh Sorenson from Pexels

With all of the new and advanced technology we have in 2020, it's crazy to think how the first-generation iPad was released 10 years ago.

March 2011: Rebecca Black’s song “Friday” was released.

media.giphy.com

The song "Friday" by Rebecca Black is probably one of, if not, the most hated song of the decade. The 13-year-old experienced lots of criticism for her lyrics and music video.

April 2011: The royal wedding of William and Kate.

https://i1.wp.com/metro.co.uk

On April 29, 2011, Prince William and Catherine (Kate) Middleton got married at Westminster Abbey in London, England. Millions of people watched the live broadcast on TV or in person by standing outside the route between Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace.

July 2012: “Gangnam Style” became the most-watched video ever.

media.giphy.com

In 2012, the song, "Gangnam Style" by the South Korean musician Psy, surpassed all other YouTube videos and became the most viewed video in the world. The song was notorious for its dance as it became a worldwide trend.

December 2012: Humans thought the world would end.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

People from all over the world believed a range of scenarios and were convinced that the world was scheduled to end on December 21, 2012. These rumors sparked global controversy and had people thinking that the earth as we knew it was doomed to end.

April 2013: Boston Marathon bombing.

https://s4.reutersmedia.net/resources

On April 15, 2013, two modified pressure cooker bombs exploded near the finish line of the annual Boston Marathon. 3 spectators were killed as hundreds of others were left injured, including 16 individuals who lost their limbs. The horrific incident was investigated and marked as a terrorist attack.

July 2013: #BlackLivesMatter movement took off.

Photo by Nicole Baster on Unsplash

The Black Lives Matter activist movement emerged in 2013 to serve as a platform to protest against police brutality and racial inequality in the U.S. criminal justice system.

December 2013: Ebola global outbreak.

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext

The outbreak of the Ebola virus began in late 2013 in West Africa and quickly spread to other countries. The massive outbreak escalated rapidly and resulted in thousands of deaths.

August 2014: Everyone was doing the Ice Bucket Challenge.

Photo by Major Tom Agency on Unsplash

The Ice Bucket Challenge went from a small fundraising strategy to an internet sensation in a matter of days. The activity involved the dumping of a bucket of ice water over a person's head to spread awareness of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and motivate people to donate for research.

June 2015: Same sex marriage is legalized in the U.S.

gettyimages-475346688.jpg?quality=80

On June 26, 2015, the United States Supreme Court overturned all state bans on same-sex marriage, legalizing it in all 50 states.

May 2016: Harambe became an internet phenomenon.

Image CC BY-NC 2.0: Mark Dumont / https://flic.kr/p/sdqM52

Harambe the gorilla was shot dead at the Cincinnati zoo on May 28, 2016, to protect a 4-year-old child who fell into the gorilla's exhibit. The incident was recorded and posted to YouTube, becoming a viral and controversial event. The parents of the young child and the Cincinnati zoo faced a lot of backlash from global publicity.

October 2016: The Vine app shut down.

Jens B?ttner / dpa via AP

Vine is a mobile app that launched in 2013 for users to take short-form videos for entertainment. People all over the world were devastated when the app was shut down in 2016. Many vines are still popular to this day, with thousands of them made into compilations. R.I.P Vine, 2013-2016.

November 2016: The 2016 Presidential Election.

https://cbsnews

Donald Trump won the 2016 presidential election by 304 electoral votes, with Mike Pence as his elected vice-president. Hillary Clinton however, received more votes than Trump by nearly 2.9 million, as one of the largest popular vote amounts of any losing presidential candidate in U.S. history.

January 2017: Millions attended the Women’s March.

https://cdn.cnn.com/

On January 21, 2017, millions of people from all over the world gathered in Washinton D.C. at The Women's March. The protest took place the day after the inauguration of President Trump.

August 2017: We experienced a total solar eclipse.

Photo by Scott Szarapka on Unsplash

On August 21, 2017, skies darkened in the first total solar eclipse visible that spanned across the entire United States.

October 2017: The #MeToo movement took off.

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media

The Me Too campaign is a movement against sexual harassment and sexual assault. Ever since it's rise in 2017, more individuals are reporting cases of sexual assault.

February 2018: Parkland school shooting.

Photo by Alex Radelich on Unsplash

On February 14, 2018, a gunman killed 17 people and injured 17 others at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida. Unfortunately, this was only one of the many mass shootings in this decade.

In 2012, the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting occurred in Newtown, Connecticut killing 26 teachers and children. In 2016, there was a shooting in Orlando, Florida that targeted an LGBTQ nightclub that killed 49 people. In 2017, a gunman opened fire at the Route 91 Harvest music festival from his hotel room in Las Vegas, Nevada.

After the Parkland school shooting in 2018, Americans started the March For Our Lives protest to prevent gun violence across the country.

May 2018: There was another royal wedding.

https://hips.hearstapps.com

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle's wedding took place on May 19, 2018, at St George's Chapel in Windsor Castle, UK. Prince Harry is a member of the British royal family, as Meghan Markle is an American and former actress. Together, they are known as The Duke and Duchess of Sussex.

December 2019: Trump became the third U.S. President in line for impeachment.

Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

The U.S. House of Representatives impeaches President Donald Trump for his crimes and abuse of power. The Senate will have a trial in early 2020 to either acquit or convict Trump.


From politics to social media to movements and beyond, these 20 events really sum up the chaos of the last 10 years.

A lot has happened in the past decade, even things not mentioned above. There have been many issues in the past 10 years that have been brought into the spotlight that require attention and action. Some of these issues involve record-breaking temperature changes, global hunger, and inequality amongst societies. As we move on to a new decade, we must go into it with united attitudes and take the large steps needed to better our environment and humanity.

And now we have reached the year of 2020. Some people never would have predicted we would make it this far. A lot can be done in the next 10 years, so let's give the 2020s all we got and transform our world for the better.

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Swoon

119 People Reveal How The Pandemic Has Affected Their Love Lives, And Honestly... Relatable

"I haven't been able to get out of the 'talking phase' with anyone."

The reality is, there's no part of life the pandemic hasn't affected. Whether it's your work life, your home life, your social life, or your love life, coronavirus (COVID-19) is wreaking havoc on just about everything — not to mention people's health.

When it comes to romance, in particular, people are all handling things differently and there's no "right way" of making it through, regardless of your relationship status (single, taken, married, divorced, you name it). So, some of Swoon's creators sought out to hear from various individuals on how exactly their love lives have been affected since quarantine began.

Keep Reading... Show less

The Caribbean is a place where people go for vacation, but if you set out from a cruise ship you miss out on all the beautiful culture. Their exotic beaches are nothing without their zinging food and hospitality. Locals in the Caribbean are warmhearted with a zest to live life to the fullest.

This is exactly where most of their words and phrases come from, having a good time. I definitely enjoyed myself living in the Caribbean, but it's not always about lounging. They get work done too and I've learned proper phrases for accomplishments.

Keep Reading... Show less

According to Urban Dictionary, a "simp" is defined as "a man that puts himself in a subservient/submissive position under women in the hopes of winning them over, without the female bringing anything to the table." There are many other definitions for a "simp," but basically it's shaming men who are kind to women without getting anything in return.

Let's just stop attacking nice men. Work out your own issues, don't project your shortcomings onto another man. What happened to the brotherhood? Y'all can lie for each other, but can't raise each other up? You guys can encourage murder, gang rape, and violence against women — or at least stay silent about it — but can't let your brother know it ain't cool when they bring you down for being nice to women with no expectation?

Keep Reading... Show less
Health and Wellness

Self-Love Is The Best Love, That's Just How It Is

Do you ever feel like you can't please everyone? Self-love will do the trick.

I've been feeling a little down lately, with the understanding that friends don't last forever and that I can't always please my parents. Life has been rough for everyone lately and it's not easy to stay happy and optimistic during these times. But I promise you, you are on this earth for a reason. You are here because God formed you, to love, and to be loved.

When things are tough, realize that you have yourself always. No one can take that away from you. You will always be you. No matter who you are, what you believe, or where you've been in life, at the end of the day, you are you. You can love you, therefore giving you one reason to stay here on this Earth.

Keep Reading... Show less
Health and Wellness

Nobody Wants To Grieve, But That's The Price We Pay For Love

Grief never comes when you think it should. It comes when a certain song comes on or the sun shines through the window just right.

Death always seems to come when life is good and everything starts to be going alright. And then out of nowhere, you're reminded of how cruel life can be. The stages of grief don't always go in order, they come in waves or all at once. Grief never comes when you think it should. It comes when a certain song comes on or the sun shines through the window just right. I take comfort in the fact that everyone experiences grief, even when you feel all alone knowing that everyone goes through a process that helps a little bit.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

What's Coming To And Leaving Netflix In August For Your Summer Viewing Pleasure

Just in time for another your end of summer binge-watch list.

Flower Films, Warner Bros, New Line Cinema

August is here, which means we will be losing some of our Netflix favorites but gaining some new ones. Here is a list of TV shows and movies we will be losing and gaining on Netflix during August.

Keep Reading... Show less
Health and Wellness

Living With Bipolar Disorder Is An Everyday Battle, But I'm Fighting It

I went from depression, to anxiety, to bipolar disorder.

I've thought about how to write this since my diagnosis. I've thought about what kind of feelings it might bring up from my mom, former friends, and even myself. I've rewritten it a thousand times in my head, but never could quite get the words onto my notepad, but tonight I'm going to sit down and write it.

Keep Reading... Show less
Politics and Activism

There's No Reason To Delay The 2020 Election Because Mail-In Votes Count Just The Same

Plus, Trump can't actually the delay the election even if he tried.

Donald Trump started Thursday out in a fury, taking to Twitter to suggest the 2020 election be delayed.

Keep Reading... Show less
Lifestyle

I'm A Black, Gay Fashion Lover Who Grew Up In The South, And I Want To Be A Beacon For The Future

Giving your life story is never easy, but it can be, if you want to make a difference.

Jacorey Moon

Growing up in Georgia was not always the accepting place we know it to be today thanks to Atlanta. Let me preface this by saying, I had a pretty good life growing up. I was raised by a single mother who sacrificed so that I could live the life that I lived. I was spoiled rotten. One way that my mother spoiled me was through clothing.

Keep Reading... Show less
Lifestyle

These 10 Black Women Were Our 2000s Fashion Icons — We're Still Replicating Their Looks Now

We recollect on some of the Black stars who served as fashion icons during the 2000s.

When we talk about the 2000s, it's always filled with nostalgia. For most of us, we grew up during that era with the razr flip phones or sidekicks, and decade staple designers like Juicy Couture, Von Dutch, and Ed Hardy. It was time of daring fashion choices and red carpets that we now look back on and say, "what were they wearing?"

A sector of people that exemplifies the fashion icons who ruled the 2000s, were Black women. So, I feel as though it's my duty to shine light on these fashion icons. Here they are:

Keep Reading... Show less
Netflix

As a college student (really as a broke person with no cable,) Netflix is my go-to for solitude- style entertainment. My favorite types of shows to watch on Netflix by far, are dating shows.

Keep Reading... Show less
Facebook Comments