10 Young Adult LGBTQ Romance Novels To Read This Summer
Start writing a post
Lifestyle

10 Young Adult LGBTQ Romance Novels To Read This Summer, Preferably With A Piña Colada

A list of books to read poolside this summer.

26
10 Young Adult LGBTQ Romance Novels To Read This Summer, Preferably With A Piña Colada

A list of 10 young adult LGBTQ romance novels to read this summer, with a piña colada in your hand!

1. "Red, White, & Royal Blue"

Amazon

A Goodreads Choice 2019 Winner, this young adult love story between two guys tells the story of the president of the United States' son, Alex, and the Prince of Wales, Henry, who have a whole lot of history and bad blood.

They stage a truce for a publicity stunt, which leads to an unforeseen romance. Casey McQuiston's book debut promises royalty, politics, and a whole lot of drama. It's your juicy beach read!

2. "Date Me, Bryson Keller"

Amazon

Pitched as "What If It's Us" meets "To All The Boys I've Loved Before" (two of my favorite romance novels might I add), This boy meets boy love story follows Bryson Keller and Kai Sheridan at Fairvale Academy who secretly agree to "date," but what starts off as a silly act starts to lead to something more.

3. "Felix Ever After"

Amazon

By Stonewall and Lambda Award winning author, Kacen Callender this new YA novel is about Felix Love, a transgender teen just looking for love.

But, when an anonymous student starts sending him transphobic messages, Felix wants revenge. When his plan for revenge turns into a love triangle, Felix ends up taking a journey of self discovery and recognizing the love he deserves.

4. "The Falling in Love Montage"

Amazon

Saoirse doesn't believe in love at first sight, happy endings and is definitely not looking for a relationship this summer. But, after meeting Ruby at an end of the year house party, things just might change and Saoirse may just fall in love despite planning to end their relationship in the fall.

Ciara Smyth's debut book promises carnivals, girl meets girl romance and a whole lot of summer fun.

5. "The Henna Wars"

Amazon

Pitched as "When Dimple Met Rishi" meets "Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda" (more of my faves), this girl meets girl rom com follows two girls and their rival henna businesses. Nishat has just came out to her parents as lesbian but doesn't have their full support.

Then once her childhood friend Flávia walks back into her life, Nishat falls for her instantly... making her life harder. Their lives begin to mix and Nishat begins to realize there is more to Flávia then she once knew.

6. "You Should See Me in a Crown"

Amazon

Leah Johnson's debut novel follows Liz Lighty as she plans the next chapter of her life. But when things start falling through, Liz is forced to re-evaluate everything. When Liz runs for prom queen and meets the new girl Mack, everything starts to change.

This adorable girl meets girl YA romance promises more than just two prom queen contenders falling in love (if that hasn't sold you already).

7. "The Fascinators"

Amazon

Fans of Rainbow Rowell and Maggie Stiefvater reunite in this magic-infused YA gay love story about friendship and first love. Following Sam and his friend group: James and Delia, the story sets off their senior year when their friendships slowly start to fall apart. Sam may be in love with James.

Delia is over their amateur magic club. And James has gotten into some trouble with the wrong group of magickers, now putting a target on all of their backs. Sam begins to realize that their love for magic may have gotten their group together, but just may be the reason for its downfall.

8. "Her Royal Highness"

Goodreads

A companion novel to "Royals" by Rachel Hawkins, we follow Millie Quint as she leaves her life in Houston behind to study in Scotland. Still trying to adjust from her move from Houston, Millie can barely stand her new roommate, Flora, who is an actual princess!

But, as the two begin to get to know each other, Millie starts to wonder if Flora is her happily ever after after all.

9. "Tell Me How You Really Feel"

Amazon

Meet Sana, your classic overachiever, and Rachel, a wannabe director, and film enthusiast. As Rachel prepares for her senior film project, she has the perfect lead in mind: Sana. But there's a problem, Rachel has hated Sana since Sana asked her out, and Rachel thought it was some cruel prank.

Inspired by classic romance comedies, strap in for a story about two strong young women falling for each other despite their messy history. It's just too good!

10. "What If It's Us"

Amazon

One of my favorite books of all time, written by the masterminds of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertali we follow a love story between Ben and Arthur. In the heart of New York City, Ben is just getting over a break up. Meanwhile, Arthur is interning in New York from Georgia for the summer.

Both believers in the universe, when the two meet at the post office, they can't help but wonder what the universe has in store for them. One of the most heartwarming and adorable books I've ever read, this better be your next beach read!

Note: As an Amazon Associate, Odyssey may earn a portion of qualifying sales.

Report this Content
Lifestyle

TikTok Made Me Buy It: Flawless's Skincare Fridge

I bought and tested one of TikTok's popular products so you don't have to.

24437

I spend a lot of time on TikTok and I never know whether the products I see are worth it or not, especially when I'm looking at the price. For Christmas, my aunt got me a gift card to Ulta. I didn't know what to buy. I have way too many palettes and lipsticks. I have my essentials. What else could I need? Then it hit me that I saw a lot of people these past few months showing off their skincare fridges. So, the second I thought of it I went on the Ulta app and bought it. So, here are my thoughts.

Keep Reading... Show less
Lifestyle

37 Cute And Unique Pinterest Board Titles

Let's be real, the hardest part about Pinterest is thinking of a cute title for your board.

11780

I don't know about anyone else but I have recently become re-obsessed with Pinterest. Like, I am spending a stupid amount of time on Pinterest daily now. While I have been binging Pinterest I have found that I love making cute and aesthetic boards but it is SO hard to come up with a name to match it. So, I scoured the internet and my brain for you. Happy pinning!

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

This Is What Type Of Person You Are Based On Your Favorite Cereal

Your cereal preference reveals more than you think.

7014
Photo by Nyana Stoica on Unsplash

Whether you eat cereal for breakfast or a late-night snack, you probably have a favorite. Little did you know that what you prefer says a lot about your personality.

Keep Reading... Show less
Alexis Hoffman

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we all know that cutting out social interaction has taken its toll.

Keep Reading... Show less
Health and Wellness

I Asked Instagram How 2020 Was, And Maybe It Wasn't The Worst Year Ever

2020 is a year to remember but it's not as bad as we made it out to be.

41355

It's finally 2021 and we're honestly all just happy that 2020 is over. I decided to ask my Instagram followers how they felt about 2020 and the results were a little more mixed up than expected.

Keep Reading... Show less

Ever since I watched "How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days," I've been a major Matthew McConaughey fan. I've seen most of his movies, and I definitely got way too excited when he finally made an Instagram! So when he announced he would be releasing a memoir titled "Greenlights," I knew I absolutely had to get my hands on this book. And so did the rest of the world, as the book began to flood social media.

Truthfully, I would much rather read a fiction book and dive into another world than read a nonfiction book - even if it is one of my favorite celebrities. But I had a feeling this book wouldn't disappoint or bore.

Keep Reading... Show less
Entertainment

The Armie Hammer Scandal Discourse Is Kink Shaming And Harming Actual Victims

The rumors surrounding Armie Hammer has resulted in some very toxic and harmful discourse.

13959

Sex is something that occupies a very significant place in our lives. Even asexual people can have an active sex life. With the various types of people that comprise this world, it obviously results in various sexual interests. And unconventional people can engage in some pretty unconventional sex practices. Even the most conventional people on the surface might surprise us with their sexual fantasies.

Keep Reading... Show less
Facebook Comments