Love Languages are more important than you think
Start writing a post
Student Life

Learning About Love Languages Changed My Life

Love Languages is the classification of how people give and receive love to those around them.


I remember flipping through channels around 3 a.m. on a weeknight in high school knowing nothing was good on TV. As I scrolled through the multiple channels playing George Lopez and The Nanny re-runs, I came across a talk show that had been aired the day before. It was a couple talking about a term called "Love Languages." I was curious as to what that meant, so I listened in.

The 5 languages are Acts of Service, Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Receiving Gifts, and Physical Touch. Each one has specific characteristics that separate it from the other.

Acts of Service consist of running errands for someone, vacuuming for them, and helping them complete a task. Speakers of this language enjoy someone being selfless enough to physically assist them and really dislike broken commitments or laziness.

Quality Time is all about undivided attention. This type of person loves nothing more than someone who can listen to them and put down their phone for a good conversation. If there is anything that makes them sad, it is distractions, failure to listen to them, and constantly pushing back plans.

Words of Affirmation requires a kind heart and thoughtful expression. People who enjoy words of affirmation need someone to tell them how much they love and appreciate them. Nothing makes their day more than to hear how proud you are of them and telling them why will have them on cloud 9. Speakers of this language hold tight onto what others say about them and can be discouraged easily by hurtful statements.

Receiving Gifts is not only about getting gifts from your loved ones but the ideas behind the gifts. If this person can see the love and thought that has gone into the present, they will cherish it. Missing anniversaries or birthdays is upsetting to them because it makes them think that they haven't crossed your mind.

Physical touch entails hugs, pats on the back, grabbing someone's arm and everything in between. It shows care, love, concern, and protection. Like most people, no matter what Love Language they speak, this group finds abuse to be unforgivable and a sign of betrayal.

Just because you enjoy giving/receiving love in one language, doesn't mean everyone else does too.

When I look at the Love Languages Website and took the quiz, it allowed me to recognize that my top two languages I enjoy the most are Acts of Service and Quality Time. Nothing is better to me than spending hours with someone I love and helping them out as much as I can. That makes my heart happy and that's how I show my love. But I came to realize that sometimes you don't get what you give. It doesn't mean that the person you love doesn't love you back, it just means they express their love in other ways. For example, my boyfriend loves Words of Affirmation. I could tell him I love him every second of every day for the rest of my life and he will be through the roof. Nothing makes him more at peace than people telling him how much they appreciate his help and how proud they are of him for accomplishing his goals. So as we caught onto each other's languages a couple years ago, nothing has been the same. We are more responsive to the other's feelings with exactly what they need and go out of our way to show the other the love they want and deserve.

You can never say "I love you" too much.

These love languages work in romantic relationships, but they also work in family and friend relationships as well. Each one of my friends needs a different kind of love and as I learn more about them, I know exactly what is the most effective way to make them feel love. It is so important to put forth that extra effort of knowing what things they enjoy and what things they can't stand. It leads to a healthier, happier friendship with both people feeling secure and respected.

Applying these principles is easier than you think.

When it comes to figuring out your Love Language as well as those around you, not only can you take the test but you can use some of your natural detective skills. Do your friends constantly need reassurance about their cute outfit? Do you find your sister fishing for compliments on occasion? Then throw out those Words of Affirmation more often and see how much happier your days are together. It is all about paying attention to the little things and getting to know others on a deeper level. Spending that little amount of time learning about their happiness can make a world of a difference. Remember: just because someone doesn't love you the way you love others, doesn't mean that they don't care about you too. Embrace your languages and become fluent within them, there is nothing more important in today's world than spreading the love.

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Types of ice cream

Who doesn't love ice cream? People from all over the world enjoy the frozen dessert, but different countries have their own twists on the classic treat.

Keep Reading...Show less
Student Life

100 Reasons to Choose Happiness

Happy Moments to Brighten Your Day!

A man with a white beard and mustache wearing a hat

As any other person on this planet, it sometimes can be hard to find the good in things. However, as I have always tried my hardest to find happiness in any and every moment and just generally always try to find the best in every situation, I have realized that your own happiness is much more important than people often think. Finding the good in any situation can help you to find happiness in some of the simplest and unexpected places.

Keep Reading...Show less

Remember The True Meaning of Christmas

“Where are you Christmas? Why can’t I find you?”

A painting of the virgin Mary, the baby Jesus, and the wise men

It’s everyone’s favorite time of year. Christmastime is a celebration, but have we forgotten what we are supposed to be celebrating? There is a reason the holiday is called Christmas. Not presentmas. Not Santamas. Not Swiftmas. Christmas.

boy standing in front of man wearing santa claus costume Photo by __ drz __ on Unsplash

What many people forget is that there is no Christmas without Christ. Not only is this a time to spend with your family and loved ones, it is a time to reflect on the blessings we have gotten from Jesus. After all, it is His birthday.

Keep Reading...Show less
Golden retriever sat on the sand with ocean in the background
Photo by Justin Aikin on Unsplash

Anyone who knows me knows how much I adore my dog. I am constantly talking about my love for her. I attribute many of my dog's amazing qualities to her breed. She is a purebred Golden Retriever, and because of this I am a self-proclaimed expert on why these are the best pets a family could have. Here are 11 reasons why Goldens are the undisputed best dog breed in the world.

Keep Reading...Show less

Boyfriend's Christmas Wishlist: 23 Best Gift Ideas for Her

Here are the gifts I would like to ask my boyfriend for to make this season unforgettable.

Young woman opening a Christmas gift

Recently, an article on Total Sorority Move called 23 Things My Boyfriend Better Not Get Me For Christmas, was going around on social media. I hope the author of this was kidding or using digital sarcasm, but I am still repulsed and shocked by the lack of appreciation throughout this article. I would like to represent the girlfriends out there who disagree with her standpoint -- the girlfriends who would be more than happy to receive any of these gifts from their boyfriends.

Keep Reading...Show less

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Facebook Comments