Book Review: Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict

Book Review: Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict

The first read for my mom and I's book club "Books, Chocolate, Cheese, and Wine"

As one would assume my love of reading didn’t come from nowhere. It actually started because of my mom, who is an avid reader herself, also she grounded me one weekend when I was little and banned me from TV, but either way it was all because of my mom. With our shared audio book account we decided to start our own book club to talk about our love of books. Our first read was Laurie Viera Rigler’s, Confession’s of a Jane Austen Addict.

Our Thoughts:

I remember the first time we watched Pride and Prejudice, I was absolutely confused the whole time. All I knew was that Elizabeth from Pirates of the Caribbean was in it, also my mom for some reason liked it and Jane Austen’s other books, and that was it. Flash forward to my high school years after a viewing Sense and Sensibility, actually reading Pride and Prejudice, and finding many fun revamps of the classic tale and I got why my mom liked it all so much. Plus who doesn’t love a good mushy romance period piece? With all of that in mind our overall thoughts on Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict were….

It was not the best, but it also was not the worst. The plot was very unpredictable, however not in a good way. We both went in thinking this was going to be a fun romance with a couple Jane Austen jokes here and there and we kind of got that? One of the parts we disliked the most about the book was that there were lots of long monologues about the science/philosophy behind all that was happening. Which makes sense if you are someone who is another person’s body and also in a different time period, but it kind takes the magic away from all of it.

With all of these monologues as well, it feels like you should have a good grasp on the main character, but you don’t. All we really knew about her was that she makes terrible choices in men and that she doesn’t like her mother. The main character almost feels like she is really just the narrator of the story.Also my mother wanted to mention how she did not appreciate the second hand embarrassment of the part where our main character, Courtney/Jane, meets Jane Austen. Why on earth would you bring up film adaptations?

Overall it held our interest to finish the book but not enough to actually stick with us. We did very much enjoy a part though that included bodily functions in church, like the 12 year olds that we both are.

That ending though! (Spoilers):

A big part of the plot is that before Courtney becomes Jane we learn that her fiance cheated on her and that she is furious with her best friend, Wes, for hiding the truth about it from her. These facts get repeated a couple more times throughout the book and that’s about all of the mention we get for this Wes character.

Once Courtney becomes Jane the then plot revolves around her falling in love with a suitor, Mr. Edgeworth, that has a secret which makes him all the more attractive. At the end they of course fall in love and when their first kiss happens that’s when things start getting weird. We suddenly start jumping between Regency era and the 21st century. It was just as confusing as the ending to Sherlock’s, “the Abominable Bride”.

At first I thought she had possibly died when in fact something had happened where both women were now back in their correct bodies. In the end we discover that Wes, a character we hardly know, was always the perfect one for Courtney, because that makes sense.

Our rating (based on goodreads rating system): ⅖

Wanna join our bookclub? Find us on Goodreads: Books, Chocolate, Cheese, and Wine

Our next read is Mom’s choice which will be Margaret Mitchell’s, Gone with the Wind. You’ve probably never heard of it but...

Cover Image Credit: Fanpop

Popular Right Now

The 5 People You WON'T Meet In Heaven: Hollywood Edition

Despite their significant influence, they will not be found in Heaven.

Some of you, or none of you, may be familiar with Mitch Albom’s best-seller, The Five People You Meet In Heaven. In the novel, the protagonist meets five people who profoundly influenced his life or vice versa, and he learns about the reasons for their or his own influence.

In 2017, and long before, the following high-profile Hollywood men were accused of sexual misconduct in ranging degrees.

Although these men differ in circumstances and their influence on the United States’ social climate, they all remain individuals who you should not expect to see in Heaven.

1. Bill Cosby

As of June 2017, CNN reported that over 50 women accused Bill Cosby of sexual misconduct. The allegations against Cosby began as early as 2000, but intensified in October 2014 when comedian Hannibal Buress’ routine went viral, where he alluded to Cosby's misdemeanors, and women began to speak out and identify themselves as those who he abused. The allegations included reports that he would “forcibly grab and kiss” women, and many alleged that they were raped by Cosby. The link between the women who came forward was their confirmation that he drugged them, and then for some that there were periods of time that they could not account for before waking up unclothed or disheveled. As the number of accusers reached the twenties, The Washington Post reported in December 2014 that colleges — including his alma mater, University of Massachusetts at Amherst — severed ties with Cosby. More recently, The New York Times reported that Cosby’s case was declared a mistrial on June 17, 2017, and it was published on Aug. 22, 2017 that the retrial would be postponed until March, five months later than originally planned.

2. Harvey Weinstein

As recently as Dec. 13, 2017, USA Today published an updated list of the 84 accusers who came forth with allegations against Harvey Weinstein of sexual misconduct. Weinstein denied the allegations leveled against him, which ranged from propositions for massages to rape, according to USA Today. The one silver-lining to be found following the explosive details published by The New York Times and The New Yorker in October 2017 is the #MeToo movement, which ignited many individuals to share their stories of sexual harassment or assault in the workplace. Nonetheless, Weinstein’s grossly inappropriate actions not only violated dozens of women, but also preyed upon many young women who were trying to enter the entertainment industry and were barely legal.

3. Kevin Spacey

Kevin Spacey made headlines when Buzzfeed News published an interview on Oct. 30, 2017, where actor Anthony Rapp alleged that Spacey “made a sexual advance towards him when Rapp was 14.” Rapp, who is now 46, claimed the advance occurred during a party at Spacey’s apartment in 1986, and that the older actor laid on top of him. BBC News also reported other men who came forward with allegations of harassment and assault that Spacey directed toward them. Additionally, CNN reported that the “House of Cards” set was a “toxic” environment due to Spacey’s inappropriate behavior aimed toward crew members who worked alongside Spacey on the series. Amidst the accusations and denouncements from other celebrities — and Netflix and the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, who refused to work on the final season of “House of Cards” if Spacey was involved and award him a special Emmy award, respectively — Spacey was also condemned for publicly recognizing in an official statement that he “choose[s] now to live as a gay man."

4. Woody Allen

Woody Allen is still a household name despite the allegations from his adopted daughter with Mia Farrow, Dylan Farrow, that he sexually abused her in 1992 when she was 7-years-old. As Farrow recounted decades ago, she was brought by Allen into the attic, and it was there that he allegedly laid his head on her lap with his face toward her body. Her claims were supported by adult witnesses on the day in question. Vanity Fair reported that on the day in question, one babysitter stated, “Allen and Dylan went missing for 15 or 20 minutes”, another claimed that Farrow was “staring vacantly in the direction of a television set” and a French tutor testified that Farrow was not wearing underpants under her sundress. More recently, Farrow decided to sit down with co-host Gayle King of “CBS This Morning” in a Jan. 18 interview that discussed the allegations. Separately, Allen is also married to Soon-Yi Previn, who he began an affair with while still in a relationship with Previn’s adoptive mother, Mia Farrow. Allen denied that he was in any way a father-figure toward Previn or any of Farrow’s adopted children, according to Salon.

5. Louis C.K.

Following the string of accusations toward men in Hollywood, Louis C.K. was accused by five women on Nov. 9, 2017 of sexual misconduct, according to The New York Times. The first pair of women, comedians Dana Min Goodman and Julia Wolov, recalled Louis C.K. inviting them to his hotel room for a nightcap after a show. He then removed his clothes and masturbated in front of them, after asking if he could take out his penis, which they initially thought was a joke. Other women came forward as well, one stating that during a phone conversation she could hear him masturbating, and another claiming that he asked her if he could masturbate in front of her, which she declined. Louis C.K. later released a statement that “These stories are true.”

Cover Image Credit: Entertainment Tonight

Related Content

Connect with a generation
of new voices.

We are students, thinkers, influencers, and communities sharing our ideas with the world. Join our platform to create and discover content that actually matters to you.

Learn more Start Creating

Spiritual Warfare inside of her Poetic Spirit

"I feel like I'm drowning in my waste of impatience." Mrs. Powercouple

Continuing to type Mrs. Powercouple begins this quest using poetry. 

"I feel like I'm drowning in my waste of impatience. I'm taking the snakes fate for this fake reality I'm now faced with causing my destiny hatred. This snare is impairing my love and care, I ask him to leave and he disappears, then comes back clearing away all the paths paved to my heart. He tells me lies like Mr. P wouldn't waste his time loving a woman like I. Instead I should expect to be alone for the rest of my life. Day and night I await, while I sit alone and pace, faced with this intake of lies. My moods throw in a loop, I'm now confused with which feeling to choose from. If I'm too happy I'll lose it and end up bruised but then I get too hurt and gain enthusiasm from it's intake. Sometimes I misplace my loves steps with my mistakes. Mr. Powercouple deserves heaven but part of my spirit is still fighting with the gate keepers. The sneaky testers, testing my patience, gaining treasures from the pleasures of having a woman's attention. Their pain is my hex because I am blessed and cursed with compassion. If anyone happened to get hurt because of me I would lose my mind. I find myself climbing through this obstacle of time, but with each pull my arm gets cut from the incline. It's like the bars are knives, but with each reach I learn to be stronger. I guess that's where the savage in me is created, because although I am a slave to my sin, I also know there is hope for me to be saved. Especially when I'm caved in, suffocating from the ashes of the graved men. I know my blood shed is my shield so I refuse to die in-vain when it's my time to go."

An older man's breath from behind her hums the expression, "Pst" forcing Mrs. P to turn around. "I'm sorry ma'am but your name wasn't on the sign in sheet and there is a line waiting to use the computers." Blinking her eyes back to reality, Mrs. P apologizes and saves her work. Leaving the library, she looks back in gratitude then continues on her way. 

Related Content

Facebook Comments