15 Well-Reviewed Netflix Movies You May Not Have Seen Yet
Start writing a post
Entertainment

15 Well-Reviewed Netflix Movies You May Not Have Seen Yet

Some great ideas to keep in mind for the next time you're lost in a Netflix spiral.

84
15 Well-Reviewed Netflix Movies You May Not Have Seen Yet

Netflix can sometimes seem like a bottomless pit of movies you love and have seen countless times, movies that look ridiculous and you'll never watch, and movies that are great but might be overlooked. These 15 films are all currently available on Netflix, and are all well-regarded by me and/or the people of the Internet. You may have seen some already, or you may not. Either way, they're all worth checking out the next time you're avoiding that pile of homework or having movie night on the couch.


1. "Stuck in Love"

Starring: Greg Kinnear, Jennifer Connelly, Lily Collins, Kristen Bell

IMDB Rating: 7.3/10--Netflix Rating: 4.5/5

The story of a father, his two teenage children and all of their attempts at love and success.

2. "Begin Again"

Starring: Mark Ruffalo, Kiera Knightley, James Corden

IMDB Rating: 7.4/10--Netflix Rating: 4.5/5

An unexpected meeting between a talented singer and a failed music executive leads to their collaboration.

3. "Spy Game"

Starring: Brad Pitt, Robert Redford

IMDB Rating: 7.0/10--Netflix Rating: 3.9/5

A soon-to-retire CIA agent uses all of his skills to free his protege from Chinese captors, while reminiscing on their history together.

4. "Nightcrawler"

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Rene Russo

IMDB Rating: 7.9/10--Netflix Rating: 3.5/5

A dark, haunting movie about a man who forces his way into the field of crime journalism and becomes obsessed with getting the best story. Best if watched before you know much about it.

5. "How to Steal a Million"

Starring: Audrey Hepburn, Peter O'Toole

IMDB Rating: 7.6/10--Netflix Rating: 4.9/5

A classic comedy about the daughter of an art forger who hires a burglar to help her steal an expensive statue.

6. "The Big Short"

Starring: Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Christian Bale, Brad Pitt

IMDB Rating: 7.8/10--Netflix Rating: 4.9/5

Several parallel stories told through one film about the housing crisis of the mid-2000's. Four men, all working in high-finance forsee the crash and decide to do something about it.

7. "The Truman Show"

Starring: Jim Carrey, Laura Linney

IMDB Rating: 8.1/10--Netflix Rating: 4.2/5

A man begins to realize that his life isn't real--he's been the star of a reality TV show since his birth.

8. "Moonrise Kingdom"

Starring: Jared Gilman, Kara Hayward, Edward Norton, Bruce Willis

IMDB Rating: 7.8/10--Netflix Rating: 4.3/5

Two young romantics run away from home together, and their entire coastal town is sent into a haphazard and humorous manhunt to get them back.

9. "Stardust"

Starring: Claire Danes, Robert De Niro, Charlie Cox

IMDB Rating: 7.7/10--Netflix Rating: 4.2/5

A fantasy and adventure movie following a man searching for a fallen star, the crossdressing pirate who helps him, and the witches and princes all trying to beat him to her.

10. "My Girl"

Starring: Anna Chlumsky, Macaulay Culkin, Jamie Lee Curtis

IMDB Rating: 6.8/10--Netflix Rating: 4.5/5

A young girl and her best friend have lots of adorable kid adventures and schemes, while trying to break up her father and his new girlfriend. This is one of the sweetest movies of all time, but be warned: it will make you cry.

11. "Shakespeare in Love"

Starring: Gwyneth Paltrow, Joseph Fiennes

IMDB Rating: 7.2/10--Netflix Rating: 3.6/5

William Shakespeare is short on money and struggling with writer's block, when he meets a woman who earns his love and inspires a famous play. This is a funny, charming movie that won the Oscar for Best Picture.

12. "The Fundamentals of Caring"

Starring: Paul Rudd, Craig Roberts, Selena Gomez

IMDB Rating: 7.4/10--Netflix Rating: 5/5

A writer becomes the caregiver of a teenager with muscular dystrophy, and they embark on a road trip together.

13. "The Usual Suspects"

Starring: Kevin Spacey, Stephen Baldwin, Gabriel Byrne

IMDB Rating: 8.6/10--Netflix Rating: 4.6/5

If you haven't seen this yet, you're seriously missing out. After a crime and gunfight gone wrong, the last survivor recounts what led up to the night, and secrets are revealed about the criminals involved.

14. "Ashby"


Starring: Mickey Rourke, Nat Wolff, Emma Roberts

IMDB Rating: 6.4/10--Netflix Rating: 4.5/5

A high school student bonds with his neighbor, a retired assassin, who doesn't have much time left to live.

15. "Pay it Forward"

Starring: Kevin Spacey, Haley Joel Osment

IMDB Rating: 7.2/10--Netflix Rating: 3.9/5

A troubled kid comes up with the idea of "paying it forward" for a class project and, through it, starts to change the world.

From Your Site Articles
Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Featured

Haunted Houses For Halloween In New Jersey

The Top Scariest Haunted Houses In New Jersey

40804

Residing in New Jersey enables you to participate in various activities, and everyone has a favorite. In New Jersey, Halloween is also celebrated in a spooky way. There are many scariest haunted houses in NJ to celebrate Halloween. If you want to confront your greatest fears, Halloween Scariest haunted houses are ideal.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

Leaving My Backpack In The Library

Views about society and the stranger sitting right across from me

76977
https://unsplash.com/photos/O0T1SIgHAfM

As a college student, my backpack is an extension of myself in many ways. It contains my notes, pens, and computer vital for my success in college. It contains the snacks and water bottle I need to survive long days on campus. It also contains the "in-case" items that help put my mind at rest if I forgot something from home: extra hair ties, masks, and that backup-backup snack. With so much in my backpack important to me and my life on campus, it is no wonder that I can get apprehensive about it when it is not with me or in my line of sight. And that makes me wonder.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

5 Cool Gadgets To Make Your Car Smart

Don't let this stop you from making your car smart. You can change the one you have using smart gadgets that transform your car into a smart car.

125377

Cars are no longer just a mode of transport, where you only worry about the engine and how beautiful its interior is. These days, everyone wants to make their cars smarter, those with advanced technology systems. It makes sense for several reasons. It can make your vehicle more efficient and safer when you need to drive.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

The Inevitable Truth of Loss

You're going to be okay.

138666

As we humans face loss and grief on a daily basis, it's challenging to see the good in all the change. Here's a better perspective on how we can deal with this inevitable feeling and why it could help us grow.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

'Venom: Let There Be Carnage' Film Review

Tom Hardy and Woody Harrelson lead a tigher, more fun sequel to 2018's 'Venom'

108515
Photo Credit: Sony Pictures Entertainment – YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FmWuCgJmxo

When Sony announced that Venom would be getting a stand-alone movie, outside of the Tom Holland MCU Spider-Man films, and intended to start its own separate shared universe of films, the reactions were generally not that kind. Even if Tom Hardy was going to take on the role, why would you take Venom, so intrinsically connected to Spider-Man's comic book roots, and remove all of that for cheap action spectacle?

Keep Reading... Show less
Facebook Comments