4 Albums You Need To Listen To

4 Hella Anticipated Albums We Deserve And We're Finally Getting

Sis, we've been waiting for new music for like a MILLION years.


This year in music has been SO darn good to us music junkies. Many artists have made 2018 their comeback year after a lengthy hiatus and/or setbacks and we are here for the ride when their new music drops.

1. Arctic Monkeys- "Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino"


Release date: May 11, 2018

Remember our angsty, indie Tumblr teenager-self era? We can most likely thank Arctic Monkey's "AM" album for that era in our lives when it broke the U.S mainstream charts back in 2013. If you listen to their entire discography, you can see an evolution in their sound. The UK based rock band's sound went from a garage grunge rock sound in their early albums to soft indie rock sound in "AM" and now a soulful, glam rock sound in their newest album, "Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino". Between "AM" and "Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino", the band took a FIVE-year hiatus and finally when a new album and tour were both announced earlier this year, our teenage-selves were LIVING for it.

2. BROCKHAMPTON- "Iridescence"


Release date: September 2018

BROCKHAMPTON has recently made it big in the mainstream rap scene as they have a plethora of unique aspects that make them the "hardest working boy band in show business". They are not your typical rap group as they have 15 members and each member has their own important part to redefine the typical American boy band. Earlier this summer, one of the vocalist, Ameer Vann was kicked out of the band due to sexual misconduct allegations, in which the group decided to put their music and tour on a brief hold. Less than a month later, the boys came out of their hiatus and made their first TV performance on Jimmy Fallon without Ameer and with a brand new song. Since then, the boys released three new songs and on August 26th, the band announced that their next album will be released in September 2018. This is highly anticipated since the "Saturation" trilogy (on which each of the three albums has Ameer on the cover SMH) and it is a new beginning for them after the Ameer scandal.

3. Twenty One Pilots- "Trench"


Release date: October 5, 2018

These two boys from Columbus, Ohio are musical geniuses. If you listen to their music, you would assume that there are more than two members in the band but yes, it's only drummer Josh Dun and vocalist/guitarist/ukulele-player/pianist Tyler Joseph. After the roaring success of "Blurryface", these two went on to sell out their shows on their U.S and world tour. Seeing them live is a such a wonderful experience that I have seen them FOUR times already and I cannot get enough of their amazing talent and energy. After touring all over the world and finalizing the "Blurryface" era in their hometown in Ohio (Tour De Columbus), the boys took a year hiatus from all social media leaving cryptic images that left the clique (their fan base) wanting more.

Early in July, they finally came back from the year-long hiatus and announced two brand new songs, the name of the album and release date, and a brand new tour. It has been about three years since Twenty One Pilots has made new music and I can already tell that the "Trench" era is going to be AH-MAZING!

4. Ariana Grande- "Sweetener"


Release date: August 17, 2018

During the European leg of Ariana Grande's "Dangerous Woman Tour" on May 22, 2017, her concert in Manchester, England was attacked by a suicide bomber. 22 people were killed and hundreds were injured and hospitalized which led Ariana to cancel shows following the attack. She then organized a benefit concert, One Love Manchester, two weeks later and used the all proceeds to aid the victims and their families affected by the attack. Although this attack halted her tour and new music, she bravely finished the "Dangerous Woman Tour" in September 2017 and finally in April 2018, she released a new song and announced that she was releasing a new album. "Sweetener" was recently released and it has mostly received well deserved positive reviews.

Popular Right Now

7 Things Every Real Taylor Swift Fan Knows Will 100 Percent Happen On TS7



On April 13th, Taylor Swift posted on her Instagram a picture with the caption "4.26"... since then, every post since has had the same caption, and fans have been theorizing ever since.

1. It's going to be very different from "Reputation"


Looking at her current pastel Instagram theme, it is very, very different than dark, mysterious vibe from her "Reputation" days.

2. This will be one of Taylor's happiest albums yet


Taylor has stayed out of the media for the most part since the release of "Reputation", and I believe that she's enjoyed her time, focusing on her music, friends, family, and relationships during this downtime.

3. This album will reflect on her childhood


In 2016, in an interview with Glamour magazine, Taylor revealed that she was bullied in school, and her mom would often take her to T.J.Maxx after school to look at the opal jewelry in order to cheer her up. On April 14th, she posted a picture of jewelry, including opal. Also, one could say that her current Instagram profile picture has an opal tone to it. These could be hints to Taylor tapping into her childhood for her newest album. Oh, and she dressed up as a "childhood hero" for a New Year's Eve party...

4. ...But also focus on moving forward


From her fresh, pastel Instagram theme to the flowers, butterflies, and overall springy vibes, Taylor has an airy, happy vibe that yells fresh, new life. Perhaps the album will also focus on her rising above everything from "Reputation" and all of the new things in her life.

5. It's going to have hidden eggs placed within the lyrics


All Swift fans know that Taylor loves to play games and create puzzles for us to figure out leading up to album releases. Why does the album itself have to be any different? Hopefully TS7 will have hidden gems in it as well...

6. Jack Antonoff and Max Martin will be back


Jack and Max have been with Taylor since "1989," and I don't think they're going anywhere. If they made it through the sound shift between Swift's 5th and 6th albums, they can work with whatever new ideas Taylor comes up with.

7. If the old Taylor is dead, I think TS7 will be when the new Taylor fully emerges


There's been some butterfly emojis and imagery flying around on Taylor's Instagram, and in a way, I think TS7 will be Taylor emerging from her cocoon of sorts into a butterfly. "Reputation" showed that she was capable of change, and this new album will show a more mature version of Taylor.

Chances are all of these are 100% wrong... but hey, it's fun to theorize while we wait for her new single/album to drop on April 26th.

Related Content

Connect with a generation
of new voices.

We are students, thinkers, influencers, and communities sharing our ideas with the world. Join our platform to create and discover content that actually matters to you.

Learn more Start Creating
Facebook Comments