A Week in Review: 6/4/16 - 6/11/16
Start writing a post
Politics and Activism

A Week in Review: 6/4/16 - 6/11/16

Top five happenings of the week.

9
A Week in Review: 6/4/16 - 6/11/16
www.mlivemediagroup.com

Like always, last week was filled with many events that sparked national conversation. Some of these topics were controversial, and most caused many Americans to take a stance on a particular issue. Regardless, the week was filled with hope, hurt and everything in between. Here are some of the most important events that happened in the last week:

1. One of the events that caused the most national conversation and outrage was the event reading the Sanford swimmer who was found guilty of raping an unconscious girl behind a dumpster after a frat party in the winter. The swimmer, Brock Turner, was sentenced to six months in county jail and probation. The most shocking events of this story were the fact that the father of the accused said that his son was having "20 minutes of action." A CNN anchor later read the letter the victim wrote to her rapist online, which went viral.

2. Muhammad Ali unexpectedly passed away at the age of 74 on June 3, 2016 after a brief illness. News shocked the world and celebrities and fans have been paying their respects ever since the news broke. His funeral was celebrated on Friday, June 10, 2016 and the icon was buried in his hometown of Louisville.

3. The time has come for Obama to officially endorse a candidate, and with no surprise, it was frontrunner Hillary Clinton. President Obama officially announced that he was in support of Hillary Clinton. For most, this did not come as a surprise, as Obama chose Clinton to work for him during his presidency. However, for Donald Trump, this was a perfect moment for him to have a say in the event and tweet, which then caused a response from Hillary. Needless to say, these two are still going at it, but now, it is happening on social media.

4. There were many celebrity breakups: Taylor Swift and Calvin Harris, Johnny Depp and Amber Heard, and Demi Lovato and Wilmer Valderrama. It is the season of breakups after all. The only good that can come out of these situations is that Taylor Swift is going to come out with a banging album, which also can be said for Demi Lovato. As far as Depp and Heard goes, they need to settle down, with abuse allegations have been swirling around and bringing these two in and out of court.

5. The last dog that assisted with 9/11 rescues has died. Bretagne was euthanized Monday, and was the last Ground Zero search dog alive. Firefighters and rescue workers lined the sidewalk as her body, draped in an American flag was brought by. Many were noticeably emotional. The golden retriever was 16.

There have been tons of events that have happened in the past week, but the top five should give anyone a roundup on anything that they missed. Stay tuned, more to come next week.

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Student Life

Waitlisted for a College Class? Here's What to Do!

Dealing with the inevitable realities of college life.

49829
college students waiting in a long line in the hallway
StableDiffusion

Course registration at college can be a big hassle and is almost never talked about. Classes you want to take fill up before you get a chance to register. You might change your mind about a class you want to take and must struggle to find another class to fit in the same time period. You also have to make sure no classes clash by time. Like I said, it's a big hassle.

This semester, I was waitlisted for two classes. Most people in this situation, especially first years, freak out because they don't know what to do. Here is what you should do when this happens.

Keep Reading...Show less
a man and a woman sitting on the beach in front of the sunset

Whether you met your new love interest online, through mutual friends, or another way entirely, you'll definitely want to know what you're getting into. I mean, really, what's the point in entering a relationship with someone if you don't know whether or not you're compatible on a very basic level?

Consider these 21 questions to ask in the talking stage when getting to know that new guy or girl you just started talking to:

Keep Reading...Show less
Lifestyle

Challah vs. Easter Bread: A Delicious Dilemma

Is there really such a difference in Challah bread or Easter Bread?

31768
loaves of challah and easter bread stacked up aside each other, an abundance of food in baskets
StableDiffusion

Ever since I could remember, it was a treat to receive Easter Bread made by my grandmother. We would only have it once a year and the wait was excruciating. Now that my grandmother has gotten older, she has stopped baking a lot of her recipes that require a lot of hand usage--her traditional Italian baking means no machines. So for the past few years, I have missed enjoying my Easter Bread.

Keep Reading...Show less
Adulting

Unlocking Lake People's Secrets: 15 Must-Knows!

There's no other place you'd rather be in the summer.

955300
Group of joyful friends sitting in a boat
Haley Harvey

The people that spend their summers at the lake are a unique group of people.

Whether you grew up going to the lake, have only recently started going, or have only been once or twice, you know it takes a certain kind of person to be a lake person. To the long-time lake people, the lake holds a special place in your heart, no matter how dirty the water may look.

Keep Reading...Show less
Student Life

Top 10 Reasons My School Rocks!

Why I Chose a Small School Over a Big University.

180486
man in black long sleeve shirt and black pants walking on white concrete pathway

I was asked so many times why I wanted to go to a small school when a big university is so much better. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure a big university is great but I absolutely love going to a small school. I know that I miss out on big sporting events and having people actually know where it is. I can't even count how many times I've been asked where it is and I know they won't know so I just say "somewhere in the middle of Wisconsin." But, I get to know most people at my school and I know my professors very well. Not to mention, being able to walk to the other side of campus in 5 minutes at a casual walking pace. I am so happy I made the decision to go to school where I did. I love my school and these are just a few reasons why.

Keep Reading...Show less

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Facebook Comments