Three Books Similar to Harry Potter
Start writing a post
Community

Three Books Similar to Harry Potter

Because J.K. Rowling doesn't deserve our money.

19
Three Books Similar to Harry Potter
Photo by Sofia Alejandra from Pexels

The Kane Chronicles

Rick Riordan, the author of The Kane Chronicles, is most famous for writing Percy Jackson. The series follows the lives of brother-sister duo Sadie and Carter Kane, whose mother died six years before the series' events. Sadie lives in London with their grandparents, but Kane travels with their father, an Egyptologist named Julius Kane. The plot of this series involves Julius reuniting his kids at the British Museum, where he unleashes the god Set, who banishes him. It is up to Sadie and Carter to navigate a strange world to bring their father back to Earth. Like Percy Jackson, this series is geared toward middle grade (upper elementary and middle school) readers, but adults can enjoy this series as well.

Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Harry Potter fans may remember Flamel's brief appearance in the first book, but real-life legend tells of him attaining immortality. This hexalogy (six-book series) by Michael Scott (no, not the Steve Carrell character from the popular sitcom The Office) follows twins Josh and Sophie on a quest and battle for the Book of Abraham the Mage. This artifact contains an elixir of life that may destroy the world in the wrong hands.

The Name of The Wind

The first book in Patrick Rothfuss's trilogy Kingskiller Chronicle, this novel follows the adventures of a young boy who wants to become a famous wizard (sound familiar?). It takes place in a fictional world called Temerant, a continent where its known area, the Four Corners of Civilization, is divided into distinct nations much like our modern world. The main religion of this world is based on medieval Christianity, though these faiths are not the same. The Fae is a parallel world where supernatural creatures can only move into the mortal realm of Temerant during a full moon.

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Featured

5 Cool Gadgets To Make Your Car Smart

Don't let this stop you from making your car smart. You can change the one you have using smart gadgets that transform your car into a smart car.

38681

Cars are no longer just a mode of transport, where you only worry about the engine and how beautiful its interior is. These days, everyone wants to make their cars smarter, those with advanced technology systems. It makes sense for several reasons. It can make your vehicle more efficient and safer when you need to drive.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

The Inevitable Truth of Loss

You're going to be okay.

82599

As we humans face loss and grief on a daily basis, it's challenging to see the good in all the change. Here's a better perspective on how we can deal with this inevitable feeling and why it could help us grow.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

'Venom: Let There Be Carnage' Film Review

Tom Hardy and Woody Harrelson lead a tigher, more fun sequel to 2018's 'Venom'

75266
Photo Credit: Sony Pictures Entertainment – YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FmWuCgJmxo

When Sony announced that Venom would be getting a stand-alone movie, outside of the Tom Holland MCU Spider-Man films, and intended to start its own separate shared universe of films, the reactions were generally not that kind. Even if Tom Hardy was going to take on the role, why would you take Venom, so intrinsically connected to Spider-Man's comic book roots, and remove all of that for cheap action spectacle?

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

'The Addams Family 2' Film Review

The sequel to the 2019 reboot is an enjoyable, but unremarkable start to the Halloween movie season

52475
Photo Credit: MGM – YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd82bSBDE84

There's a reason why the Addams Family have become icons of the American cartoon pantheon (although having one of the catchiest theme songs in television history doesn't hinder them).

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

The Latest Trends in the Music World

The music world is a fast evolving and ever changing landscape of influence. Over the last 20 years, we've seen the influx of home recording technology paired with the rise of streaming, making way for new independent artists and communities to flourish.

94221

The music world is a fast evolving and ever changing landscape of influence. Over the last 20 years, we've seen the influx of home recording technology paired with the rise of streaming, making way for new independent artists and communities to flourish. This is the positive side of the streaming coin, different kinds of music can exist in the same spaces in much more fluid ways. Aesthetic and musical styles are merging and taking on new life in the 21st century. Trends in the music industry can be most easily followed by exploring instagram, TikTok and other social media platforms to see what people are wearing and listening to. Let's take a look at a few style and artistic trends influencing the world of music.

Keep Reading... Show less
Facebook Comments