Three Books Similar to Harry Potter
Start writing a post
Community

Three Books Similar to Harry Potter

Because J.K. Rowling doesn't deserve our money.

31
Three Books Similar to Harry Potter
Photo by Sofia Alejandra from Pexels

The Kane Chronicles

Rick Riordan, the author of The Kane Chronicles, is most famous for writing Percy Jackson. The series follows the lives of brother-sister duo Sadie and Carter Kane, whose mother died six years before the series' events. Sadie lives in London with their grandparents, but Kane travels with their father, an Egyptologist named Julius Kane. The plot of this series involves Julius reuniting his kids at the British Museum, where he unleashes the god Set, who banishes him. It is up to Sadie and Carter to navigate a strange world to bring their father back to Earth. Like Percy Jackson, this series is geared toward middle grade (upper elementary and middle school) readers, but adults can enjoy this series as well.

Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Harry Potter fans may remember Flamel's brief appearance in the first book, but real-life legend tells of him attaining immortality. This hexalogy (six-book series) by Michael Scott (no, not the Steve Carrell character from the popular sitcom The Office) follows twins Josh and Sophie on a quest and battle for the Book of Abraham the Mage. This artifact contains an elixir of life that may destroy the world in the wrong hands.

The Name of The Wind

The first book in Patrick Rothfuss's trilogy Kingskiller Chronicle, this novel follows the adventures of a young boy who wants to become a famous wizard (sound familiar?). It takes place in a fictional world called Temerant, a continent where its known area, the Four Corners of Civilization, is divided into distinct nations much like our modern world. The main religion of this world is based on medieval Christianity, though these faiths are not the same. The Fae is a parallel world where supernatural creatures can only move into the mortal realm of Temerant during a full moon.

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
Featured

How to Celebrate Valentine's Day Without a Valentine

You know YOU are not determined by your romantic status

3165
How to Celebrate Valentine's Day Without a Valentine
https://www.southbostontoday.com/celebrating-valentines-day-in-southie-next-thursday-of-course/

Although the most romantic and love-filled holiday is right around the corner, it's important to know that Feb.14, the middle day of the shortest month of the year, doesn't need to be determined by your current romantic status. With that being said, you can either choose to sulk over the fact that you're single or you can make the best out of Valentine's Day without even having one.

Here are a few ideas to celebrate the day:

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

7 Fun Facts About The Eiffel Tower

The iconic landmark is reinventing itself with a splashy new color.

5452
Eiffel Tower

Soon, the 2024 Summer Olympics are coming to Paris, and the Eiffel Tower will be in the spotlight.

Embedded so much into Paris's identity, the iconic landmark is no stranger to historic events and world-class gatherings over the years. It is sure to shine again.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

Blue Skies Weren't Always Blue

You don't just start as the person you are meant to be; there is a journey full of ups and downs that mold a person, so this is my journey.

5117
Blue Skies Weren't Always Blue

Overall I'd love to say I grew up a happy overly enthusiastic child that was taught to love herself and be loved by everyone else, but I can't say that and I never will. My smile wasn't always as bright as it is today, but this is the story behind my smile, the story about how I got here to the happiest place I'll ever be. I'll begin at freshman year of high school.

Keep Reading... Show less
Featured

The Heart Wants what the Heart Wants

Just remember sometimes it is gonna hurt, whether we want it to or not!

7353
The Heart Wants what the Heart Wants
Where to start...... Let me start with the cliche that life throws us curveballs and what we do with it is what counts.

One day he walked into my life. UNEXPECTED! And one day he walked out!

Keep Reading... Show less
Content Inspiration

Top 3 Response Articles of This Week

See which conversations rose to the top on Odyssey this week!

6126
Pixabay

New response writers means exciting new conversations on Odyssey! We're proud to spotlight our talented creators and the topics that matter most to them. Here are the top three response articles of last week:

Keep Reading... Show less

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Facebook Comments