Here Are A Few Basic Things To Know About Islam
Start writing a post

Here Are A Few Basic Things To Know About Islam

Islam is one of the most misunderstood religions in the world, so here is a quick crash course on the religion.

Here Are A Few Basic Things To Know About Islam

Islam is one of the most misunderstood religions in the world. Many people do not fully understand the faith, and many more persecute Muslims out of this fear of the unknown. However, considering that Islam is the world's fastest growing religion, it is vital to have an understanding of the faith's beliefs and practices. Here is just a quick intro to this extremely broad religion.

Islam began under the leadership of the Arabian merchant Muhammad. Muhammad claimed that he had direct revelation from God (Allah) and that Allah gave him the fundamental teachings for the universe. Muhammad compiled these lessons into the Qu'ran- the Holy text of Islam which is said to be directly written by God.

One of the most important teachings that Muhammad brought from God was the belief in monotheism, the belief in one, singular God. Specifically, Muhammad preached the word of the God of Abraham: an all-powerful, all-knowing, perfect God. This is in direct opposition to the majority of 7th-century Arabian clans which (with the exception of several small Jewish clans) were polytheists.

After the death of Muhammad, Islam split into two distinct branches. The biggest reason that Islam split into 2 distinct branches is due to a disagreement in the leadership of Islam. After the death of Muhammad, there was disagreement about who should take over as political and spiritual leader of Islam. Sunnis hold the belief that Muhammad designated no successor, so it was right to elect a new leader. However, Shi'is believe that Muhammad designated his son-in-law to be his successor, and thus his lineage is the heir to the religious authority of Islam.

Muslims practice what is called the Five Pillars of Islam- the 5 Holy teachings of the Qu'ran. Two of these pillars are the Hajj and the Zakat.

The Hajj is the sacred pilgrimage to Mecca that each Muslim is expected to undergo once in his/her life if possible. The Hajj includes traveling to Mecca and imitating events from the life of Abraham, including walking around the Ka'ba- the first house of worship built by Adam and Eve.

The Third Pillar of Islam is the Zakat: the requirement of almsgiving to the poor. Muslims are required to tithe a certain percentage of their yearly income to the poor and give a certain percentage of other assets to the poor. The only rules are that it cannot be given to family or to investment funds, and the charities are arranged by religious committee

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
houses under green sky
Photo by Alev Takil on Unsplash

Small towns certainly have their pros and cons. Many people who grow up in small towns find themselves counting the days until they get to escape their roots and plant new ones in bigger, "better" places. And that's fine. I'd be lying if I said I hadn't thought those same thoughts before too. We all have, but they say it's important to remember where you came from. When I think about where I come from, I can't help having an overwhelming feeling of gratitude for my roots. Being from a small town has taught me so many important lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

Keep Reading...Show less
​a woman sitting at a table having a coffee

I can't say "thank you" enough to express how grateful I am for you coming into my life. You have made such a huge impact on my life. I would not be the person I am today without you and I know that you will keep inspiring me to become an even better version of myself.

Keep Reading...Show less
Student Life

Waitlisted for a College Class? Here's What to Do!

Dealing with the inevitable realities of college life.

college students waiting in a long line in the hallway

Course registration at college can be a big hassle and is almost never talked about. Classes you want to take fill up before you get a chance to register. You might change your mind about a class you want to take and must struggle to find another class to fit in the same time period. You also have to make sure no classes clash by time. Like I said, it's a big hassle.

This semester, I was waitlisted for two classes. Most people in this situation, especially first years, freak out because they don't know what to do. Here is what you should do when this happens.

Keep Reading...Show less
a man and a woman sitting on the beach in front of the sunset

Whether you met your new love interest online, through mutual friends, or another way entirely, you'll definitely want to know what you're getting into. I mean, really, what's the point in entering a relationship with someone if you don't know whether or not you're compatible on a very basic level?

Consider these 21 questions to ask in the talking stage when getting to know that new guy or girl you just started talking to:

Keep Reading...Show less

Challah vs. Easter Bread: A Delicious Dilemma

Is there really such a difference in Challah bread or Easter Bread?

loaves of challah and easter bread stacked up aside each other, an abundance of food in baskets

Ever since I could remember, it was a treat to receive Easter Bread made by my grandmother. We would only have it once a year and the wait was excruciating. Now that my grandmother has gotten older, she has stopped baking a lot of her recipes that require a lot of hand usage--her traditional Italian baking means no machines. So for the past few years, I have missed enjoying my Easter Bread.

Keep Reading...Show less

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Facebook Comments