Authors To Check Out If You're A Stephen King Fanatic
Start writing a post
Entertainment

Authors To Check Out If You're A Stephen King Fanatic

Venture out of the King of Horror with these other great writers

821
https://www.pexels.com/photo/books-stack-old-antique-33283/
Pexels

Anyone who knows me knows I love Stephen King. His novels comprise a pretty good chunk of all the books I read every year, but how can they not when he's written over 50 novels? When you've got so much to read from just one person, it can feel like you don't even need to try a new writer. But if you are looking for something new, Stephen King would approve if you took a look at these writers next time you stop by your local bookstore.

1. Paul Tremblay

Tremblay is the author of several books and many short stories, specializing in horror and dark fiction. He has won the Bram Stoker Award for Novel, was nominated as Goodreads Choice Awards: Best Horror, and is a juror for the Shirley Jackson Awards. His incredible book A Head Full of Ghosts was reviewed by the King of Horror himself, he said it "...scared the living hell out of me, and I'm pretty hard to scare." With a review like that, can can not pick up this guy's work?

2. Richard Adams 

Richard Adams is most well-known for his survival/adventure novel Watership Down. While Adams' work is not similar to King's in genre, the writing style is somewhat similar and Adams wasn't afraid to push boundaries. His most famous work is far more exciting and gripping than a book about rabbits sounds and he used that to his advantage. Like King's, his characters are plagued by misfortune and they spend the book in exciting and even frightening situations. King also told Goodreads that Watership Down is one of his top ten favorite books and when you're looking for books to take a break from King, his own favorites wouldn't be a bad place to start.

3. Shirley Jackson

A master of horror in her own right, Shirley Jackson would be another great author to check out if you're looking for something Stephen King-esque. Some of her most popular works include the short story "The Lottery," and the books We Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Haunting of Hill House. All her works were very new for the time of their release and I think she does a fantastic job creating an original and shocking narrative. The Haunting of Hill House was also a huge inspiration for King when he wrote The Shining which I think speaks volumes about how much he respects her writing and has been influenced by it.

4. Richard Chizmar

Richard Chizmar doesn't write many novels of his own, he does a good deal of collaboration work. He has written several novels and compilations of his numerous short stories though. He writes mostly horror novels and crime fiction, which is bound to appeal to Stephen King fans. Chizmar even collaborated with on the novella Gwendy's Button Box which is basically a stamp of approval.

5. Richard Bachman 

Richard Bachman is famous for his horror and suspense novels, and published them until his death in 1985. His books were mainly grounded in science fiction, dystopia, psychological thrillers, and horror.

Stephen King fans will love him because he is Stephen King.

King used the now well-known pseudonym from 1977 to 1985 when a bookstore clerk realized how similar the writing was between the two authors and contacted King's editor saying he knew. His famous book Misery was supposed to be a Bachman novel, but his real identity was revealed when he was writing it. King began using the pseudonym because he wanted to publish more than the industry standard of one book a year. When he was outed he said Bachman had died of "cancer of the pseudonym."

Now you can add even more for that TBR (To Be Read) list! Happy reading!!

Report this Content
This article has not been reviewed by Odyssey HQ and solely reflects the ideas and opinions of the creator.
the beatles
Wikipedia Commons

For as long as I can remember, I have been listening to The Beatles. Every year, my mom would appropriately blast “Birthday” on anyone’s birthday. I knew all of the words to “Back In The U.S.S.R” by the time I was 5 (Even though I had no idea what or where the U.S.S.R was). I grew up with John, Paul, George, and Ringo instead Justin, JC, Joey, Chris and Lance (I had to google N*SYNC to remember their names). The highlight of my short life was Paul McCartney in concert twice. I’m not someone to “fangirl” but those days I fangirled hard. The music of The Beatles has gotten me through everything. Their songs have brought me more joy, peace, and comfort. I can listen to them in any situation and find what I need. Here are the best lyrics from The Beatles for every and any occasion.

Keep Reading...Show less
Being Invisible The Best Super Power

The best superpower ever? Being invisible of course. Imagine just being able to go from seen to unseen on a dime. Who wouldn't want to have the opportunity to be invisible? Superman and Batman have nothing on being invisible with their superhero abilities. Here are some things that you could do while being invisible, because being invisible can benefit your social life too.

Keep Reading...Show less
Featured

19 Lessons I'll Never Forget from Growing Up In a Small Town

There have been many lessons learned.

77635
houses under green sky
Photo by Alev Takil on Unsplash

Small towns certainly have their pros and cons. Many people who grow up in small towns find themselves counting the days until they get to escape their roots and plant new ones in bigger, "better" places. And that's fine. I'd be lying if I said I hadn't thought those same thoughts before too. We all have, but they say it's important to remember where you came from. When I think about where I come from, I can't help having an overwhelming feeling of gratitude for my roots. Being from a small town has taught me so many important lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

Keep Reading...Show less
​a woman sitting at a table having a coffee
nappy.co

I can't say "thank you" enough to express how grateful I am for you coming into my life. You have made such a huge impact on my life. I would not be the person I am today without you and I know that you will keep inspiring me to become an even better version of myself.

Keep Reading...Show less
Student Life

Waitlisted for a College Class? Here's What to Do!

Dealing with the inevitable realities of college life.

148443
college students waiting in a long line in the hallway
StableDiffusion

Course registration at college can be a big hassle and is almost never talked about. Classes you want to take fill up before you get a chance to register. You might change your mind about a class you want to take and must struggle to find another class to fit in the same time period. You also have to make sure no classes clash by time. Like I said, it's a big hassle.

This semester, I was waitlisted for two classes. Most people in this situation, especially first years, freak out because they don't know what to do. Here is what you should do when this happens.

Keep Reading...Show less

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Facebook Comments